Watch Gilharmonic on Violinist.com, Episode 3, with Gil Shaham and Tessa Lark!

June 26, 2020, 6:18 PM · Click below to watch Episode 3 of "Gilharmonic on Violinist.com" -- the happiest hour of live violin talk online, hosted by Gil Shaham and me! You can watch it right here at 10 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Mountain, noon Central, 1 p.m. Eastern.

Click here to go directly to our Youtube page, where you can participate in live conversation during the show, or click here to watch on Facebook live. And don't worry, you can watch it afterwards if you miss it live, using all these same links!

Our guest artist this week is violinist Tessa Lark, who is both a classical and bluegrass virtuoso and will be joining us from NYC. Just this year she was nominated for a Grammy for her recording of "Sky," a bluegrass-inspired violin concerto composed for her by Michael Torke. Recently she has been posting her performances of works by Fritz Kreisler on her Facebook page, under the hashtag #FritzonFriday. She will perform the last movement from Ysaÿe's Sonata No. 4, leading into it with an improvisation based on the piece.

Our two master class students include:

Grant Jensen, 10, from Santa Monica, California, who is a student of Morgan Gerstmar. He is a Suzuki student who also plays in Santa Monica's Elemental Strings Orchestra. He will play Martini's "Gavotte."

Faustina Housner, who just finished her freshman year at the Rice University's Shepherd School of Music, studying with Kathleen Winkler. She will play selections from Béla Bartók's "Rumanian Folk Dances."

Looking forward to seeing you there!

NOTE: Make it a double feature! Following "Gilharmonic on Violinist.com," Gil Shaham will be featured with his wife, violinist Adele Anthony, at 11 a.m. PT and 2 p.m. ET in the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra's Global Gala. The virtual concert is free and will be streamed on the Medici TV website, so if you'd like to watch, please click here!

You might also like:

Replies

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Los Angeles Philharmonic

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

House of Rosin
House of Rosin

Holiday Shopping Business Directory
Holiday Shopping Business Directory

Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning
Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning

ARIA International Summer Academy

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases

Fiddlerman.com

Fiddlershop

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Violin-Strings.com

Metzler Violin Shop

Leatherwood Bespoke Rosin

Warchal

Barenreiter

Johnson String Instrument and Carriage House Violins

Potter Violins

String Masters

Bein & Company

Annapolis Bows & Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of Violinist.com in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews.

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine

Subscribe