Violinist.com Live Interview with Gil Shaham

June 8, 2020, 4:02 PM · This weekend we caught up with violinist Gil Shaham at his home in New York City and did our first Violinist.com Live Interview!

Gil normally would be traveling all over the globe for solo appearances with orchestras - in fact, he had been scheduled to play with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, among many others, this spring. I was looking forward to hearing him play the Barber Violin Concerto! But as with everyone and everything in 2020, all plans have been put on hold.

With this in mind, I talked with Gil about the recordings he's been doing from home with his wife Adele, which have included collaborations with cellist and Music Director of The Knights Eric Jacobsen, as well as violinists Colin Jacobsen (Eric's brother) and Julian Milone, who composed the arrangements. He also premiered a solo piece written by Scott Wheeler called Isolation Rag. And we also include in this video a little premiere, of Gil's performance with the above group, playing an arrangement by Milone of Shostakovich's frenetic and fun "Galop."

We also have a little announcement - that this summer Gil and Violinist.com will be doing a live show, kind of a mix between a master class and "violin talk," to cheer everyone up during the pandemic. We're calling it "Gilharmonic on Violinist.com" and it will feature Gil, me and several guests: two students and a guest artist for each show.

Do you wish to be on this show? If so, e-mail me your video! Our first guest will be gypsy jazz violinist Jason Anick, and the first show (barring any technical difficulties!) will air live on Violinist.com's Facebook page and YouTube page this Sunday at 11 a.m. PT, 2 p.m. ET. Please subscribe to our channels for a reminder when the show starts. We can't wait!

You might also like:

Replies

June 9, 2020 at 01:26 PM · how great! I love mr Shahams video's on YouTube. Love to see and hear him now in your show. Question: are there two shows or do you mean 11 am (I suppose the latter)

June 9, 2020 at 02:41 PM · To be super-specific: the show will be Sunday at 11 am Pacific time, which is noon Mountain time, 1 pm Central time, and 2 pm Eastern time - and 7 pm in London!

June 11, 2020 at 12:44 AM · Laurie, thanks for the great interview with Gil! Looking forward to the Gilharmonic.

By the way, if you heard any Paganini in my Isolation Rag it was an accidental theft. I did include a snippet of the first movement of the Mendelssohn concerto, then bits of the last movement of the Mendelssohn and the last movement of the Brahms. Those quotes were no doubt why Gil heard the piece as the soloist pining for his orchestra.

Congrats on this excellent website.

Best, Scott Wheeler

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning
Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases

Fiddlerman.com

Fiddlershop

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Violin-Strings.com

Metzler Violin Shop

Leatherwood Bespoke Rosin

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of Violinist.com in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews.

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine

Subscribe