Violinist Joshua Brown Wins Leopold Mozart International Violin Competition

June 8, 2019, 5:31 PM · Congratulations to the winners in the 10th Leopold Mozart International Violin Competition in Augsburg, Germany! They are:

2019 Leopold Mozart Violin Competition winners
L-R: competition director Simon Pickel, competitors Joshua Brown, Karisa Chiu and Kaoru Oe, and competition artistic director Linus Roth.

Joshua Brown currently studies with Donald Weilerstein at New England Conservatory of Music, having previously studied with Almita and Roland Vamos at the Music Institute of Chicago’s Academy. He has won numerous competitions, awards and distinctions, including being named a 2018 Yamaha Young Performing Artist; National YoungArts Winner in both 2016 and 2017. He won Second Prize and Audience Award in the Cooper International Violin Competition, and as a member of the Kairos String Quartet he won Gold Medals in both the Junior Division of the 2018 Fischoff National Chamber Competition and the Junior String Division of the 2018 M-Prize International Chamber Arts Competition. Brown plays on a 1679 Pietro Guarneri, on loan from the Stradivari Society of Chicago.

Below is the video of the livestream of the Prizewinner's Orchestra Concert, in which laureates performed with the Munich Radio Orchestra. (37:17 - Kaoru Oe of Japan plays Mozart; 1:01:40 - Karisa Chiu of the United States plays Mozart; 2:07:05 - Joshua Brown of the United States plays Tchaikovsky)


Youth Development Prizes (€ 500 each)

Founded in 1987, the Leopold Mozart International Violin Competition takes place every three years in cooperation with the city of Augsburg and the Leopold Mozart Center of the University of Augsburg. The competition honors Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's father, Leopold Mozart, a leading violin pedagogue of his time who trained his son and also wrote the important Treatise on the Fundamental Principles of Violin Playing. It is open to violinists between the ages of 15 and 30. Previous winners include Isabelle Faust, Ji Won Song, Maia Cabeza and others.

Jury members for the 2019 competition included Chairman Benjamin Schmid, Friedemann Eichhorn, Liza Ferschtman, Remy Franck, Sabine Frank, John Gilhooly, Ulf Hoelscher, Danjulo Ishizaka, Jens F. Laurson, Nils Mönkemeyer, Anna Picard, Christian Poltéra, Marco Rizzi and Erik Schumann.

You might also like:


This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

JR Judd Violins
JR Judd Violins

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Los Angeles Philharmonic

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Anne Cole Violin Maker
Anne Cole Violin Maker Shopping Guide Shopping Guide

Metzler Violin Shop

Southwest Strings

Bobelock Cases

Johnson String Instrument/Carriage House Violins

Jargar Strings

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop


Los Angeles Violin Shop


String Masters

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine