Winners announced in the 2018 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition

May 14, 2018, 3:21 PM · Congratulations to the winners of the 45nd annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition! Top winners included the Cleveland Institute-based Callisto Quartet, which won both the Grand Prize and Senior String Division Gold Medal; and the Kairos String Quartet from the Academy of the Music Institute of Chicago, which won the Gold Medal in the Junior Division. The Kairos has had quite a month, having also won first prize in the Junior Division of the M-Prize just last week.

The Fischoff competition was held over the weekend at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Ind., with 49 ensembles competing (12 each in the Senior String and Wind Divisions and 25 in the Junior Division). The ensembles represented 28 countries and territories (including 25 U.S. states). Those had been narrowed down from a total of 136 ensembles that applied for the 2018 competition.

Here are all the prize winners:

GRAND PRIZE ($10,000)

Callisto Quartet
The Callisto Quartet, 2018 Fischoff Grand Prize and Senior Strings Division Gold Medal winners. Photo by Mike Grittani.

Callisto Quartet
Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland, Ohio

BELOW: The Callisto Quartet performs Thomas Ades: The Four Quarters:


GOLD MEDAL ($3,500)

Callisto Quartet
Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland, Ohio


Viano String Quartet
Colburn School, Los Angeles, Calif.


Thalea String Quartet
San Francisco, California


Kairos String Quartet 2018 Fischoff
The Kairos String Quartet, 2018 Fischoff Junior Division Gold Medal winners.

GOLD MEDAL ($2,300)

Kairos String Quartet
Academy of the Music Institute of Chicago, Evanston, Ill.

BELOW: The Kairos String Quartet performs the first movement of Mendelssohn's String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80:


Razumovsky Quartet
Young Artist Program at the Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland, Ohio


Geneva String Quartet
Chamber Music Connection, Worthington, Ohio

Read about winners in the Junior and Senior Wind Divisions here.

The competition was founded in 1973 by Joseph E. Fischoff and and members of the South Bend (Ind.) Chamber Music Society. This competition was the last one for Fischoff’s executive director Ann Divine, who has served in that role for 24 years. Each division had separate juries; jury members for the Senior Strings Division included violist Victoria Chiang; violinist Simin Ganatra; cellist Paul Katz; and pianist Anne-Marie McDermott. Jury members for the Junior Division included pianist Judith Gordon; cellist Daniel McDonough; bassoonist Ryan Reynolds; and violinist Janet Ying.


May 15, 2018 at 03:47 PM · Congratulations to both Callisto and Kairos! I watched the livestream and both quartets were simply incredible! I could not believe that the members of Kairos were still in high school.

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music Shopping Guide Shopping Guide

JR Judd Violins
JR Judd Violins

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Los Angeles Philharmonic

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Anne Cole Violin Maker
Anne Cole Violin Maker

Miroirs CA Classical Music Journal
Miroirs CA Classical Music Journal

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Classic Violin Olympus

Coltman Chamber Music Competition

Metzler Violin Shop

Southwest Strings

Bobelock Cases

Johnson String Instrument/Carriage House Violins

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Jargar Strings


Violin Lab



Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine