LIVESTREAM: Gluzman plays Shostakovich

September 21, 2017, 7:34 AM · Here is a live stream of a concert Thursday, featuring Vadim Gluzman playing the Shostakovich Concerto No. 2 with the Gothenburg Symphony (starting at 27:48), Enjoy! (This will be available to view on demand for 30 days.)


Here is the description: "A Russian evening with Russian composers and Russian conductor! Glazunov’s beautiful concert waltz introduces and paves the way for Shostakovich’s Second Violin Concerto with Israeli Vadim Gluzman – a highly skilled violinist who really makes his instrument sing.
The concerto was written to celebrate the master violinist David Oistrakh’s 60th birthday, and Shostakovich saw it as a challenge to surpass himself with this birthday gift. He had suffered a heart attack the year before and his apprehension and longing for life colour this intense and profound violin concerto.

The evening ends with a grand première: Victoria Borisova-Olla’s Second Symphony, a piece commissioned by Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, in the safe hands of Andrey Boreyko."


This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases Business Directory Business Directory

Johansen International Competition

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases


Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Metzler Violin Shop

Leatherwood Bespoke Rosin



Johnson String Instrument and Carriage House Violins

Potter Violins

String Masters

Bein & Company

Annapolis Bows & Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine