Printer-friendly version

Jinjoo Cho, 26, of South Korea wins Gold in the 2014 International Violin Competition of Indianapolis

Laurie Niles

Written by
Published: September 21, 2014 at 3:29 AM [UTC]

Jinjoo Cho, 26, of South Korea has won first prize in the 2014 International Violin Competition of Indianapolis. Laureates were announced Saturday following the last Finals concert with the Indianapolis Symphony at Hilbert Circle Theater.

Jinjoo Cho
Photo by Denis Kelly

Here are the laureates and their prizes (pictured below, right to left in order of their placement):

Photo by Denis Kelly

Gold Medalist, Jinjoo Cho, 26, of South Korea: $30,000
Silver Medalist, Tessa Lark, 25, of the United States: $15,000
Bronze Medalist, Ji Young Lim, 19, of South Korea: $10,000
Fourth Place, Dami Kim, 25, of South Korea: $7,000
Fifth Place, Yoo Jin Jang, 23, of South Korea : $6,000
Sixth Place, Ji Yoon Lee, 22, of South Korea: $5,000

Gold medalist Jinjoo Cho is a graduate of the Cleveland Institute of Music and attended Curtis Institute. Her current teacher is Jaime Laredo and she has studied also with Paul Kantor, Joseph Silverstein and Pamela Frank. Previously she won first prize in the Montreal International Music Competition, Buenos Aires International Violin Competition, Schoenfeld International String Competition and the Stulberg International String Competition.

Silver medalist Tessa Lark has studied with Miriam Fried, Lucy Chapman and Kurt Sassmannshaus. In 2012 she won the Naumburg International Violin Award and in 2014 she received a career grant from the Leonore Annenberg Fellowship Fun for the Performing and Visual Arts.

Bronze medalist Ji Young Lim studies with Nam Yun Kim at the Korea National University of Arts and was a prizewinner at the 2013 Montreal International Music Competition, first prize at the Euroasia International Competition and third prize at the 2011 Henri Marteau Competition.

Jury members included Jaime Laredo (Jury President), Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Dong-Suk Kang, Boris Kuschnir, Cho-Liang Lin, Philip Setzer, Dmitry Sitkovetsky and Kyoko Takezawa. Jury member Miriam Fried was asked not to vote because three of the six finalists were current or former students of hers.

From Emily Hogstad
Posted on September 21, 2014 at 3:58 AM
Jinjoo Cho has been one of my favorite young violinists since her Montreal Competition win in 2006. Congratulations to her; I'm so delighted at her win, and I hope the competition brings her all the recognition she so richly deserves!
Posted on September 21, 2014 at 5:33 PM
I think all the laureates are great violinists. But i disagree with the order. In my opions the orders are the following
Gold medalist: JinJoo jang
Sivler medalist : Ji Yoon Lee
Bronze medalist: dami kim
4th laureate: Jinjoo cho
5th laureate: tessa lark
6th laureate: jiyoon lim

This entry has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

JR Judd Violins
JR Judd Violins

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Los Angeles Philharmonic

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Anne Cole Violin Maker
Anne Cole Violin Maker Shopping Guide Shopping Guide

Metzler Violin Shop

Southwest Strings

Bobelock Cases

Johnson String Instrument/Carriage House Violins

Jargar Strings

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop


Los Angeles Violin Shop


String Masters

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine