Livestream String Music -- Concert Listings for October

October 2, 2020, 12:41 PM · Just because most concert halls remain closed doesn’t mean you can’t hear some wonderful artists and ensembles during the month of October. Here are a few live streams that will introduce you to several new artists, reacquaint you with your favorites, offer composers ranging from J.S. Bach to Jessie Montgomery, and bring you fiddle styles from classical to old-time Appalachian.

October streams

Borromeo String Quartet

Nicholas Kitchen and Kristopher Tong (violins), Mai Motobuchi (viola), and Yeesun Kim (cello) are a formidable foursome. The award-winning quartet is “ensemble-in-residence” at the New England Conservatory of Music, the Taos School of Music summer program, and the Heifetz International Music Institute. During the course of two concerts, they will bring you stunning masterpieces of the quartet repertoire.


Friday, October 2
10:30pm EDT, 9:30pm CT, 8:30pm MT, 7:30pm PT
Mozart - String Quartet in G Major, K. 387
Navok - String Quartet no. 4 (Soliloquy)
Mendelssohn - String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 44, No. 3

Saturday, October 3
6:00pm EDT, 5:00pm CT, 4:00pm MT, 3:00pm PT
Bach - Four pairs of Preludes and Fugues from the "Well-Tempered Clavier"
Beethoven - String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 74, "The Harp"
Beethoven - String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 130

Tickets: $20
Presented by: Chamber Music Concerts
Register

Balourdet String Quartet

Angela Bae and Justin DeFilippis (violins), Benjamin Zannoni (viola), and Russell Houston (cello), current participants in the New England Conservatory’s Professional Chamber Music Program, will perform an innovative hour of music that pairs Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 1 in F Major, Op. 18, No. 1 and Bartók’s String Quartet No. 4, Sz. 91 with contemporary musician/composer Jessie Montgomery’s "Strum." Immediately following the performance, Ms. Montgomery will participate in a conversation with violinist Cho-Liang Lin, a past mentor of the Balourdet Quartet. Audience members may join the conversation in the chat.

Sunday, October 4
2:00pm EDT, 1:00pm CT, 12:00pm MT, 11:00am PT
Tickets: $8
Presented by Schneider Concerts and the New England Conservatory
Register

Rachel Barton Pine and Bruce Molsky

Classical violinist Rachel Barton Pine and Appalachian old-time fiddler Bruce Molsky offer a streaming hour of traditional and classical music (and tales) titled "We Went to Different Schools Together." The diverse program will include Ms. Pine performing Molsky’s "Waltz" from American Partita No. 1 in D Major.

Tuesday, October 6
8:00pm EDT, 7:00pm CT, 6:00pm MT, 5:00pm PT
Tickets: $15
Presented by: OurConcerts.live.
Register

Boulder Bach Festival

The Boulder Bach Festival’s 40th season will be in the form of a "seasonal tribute" called Beyond the Screen, Colorado Concert Films. In each "season," your subscription pass will give you several weeks during which you can view a film that features not only great music but stunning Colorado scenery. "Autum"” brings performances of vocal and instrumental works, including a sonata by J.S. Bach that features Mina Gajic performing on the BBF’s new double manual Flemish harpsichord, as well as a motet by Johann Christoph Bach for voices and viola da gamba. (A mini preview is shown below.)

October 8-22 "Autumn"
Tickets: $175 season subscription to all four Colorado Concert Films
Register

Cello Bello Gala

Superstar cellists Yo-Yo Ma, Mischa Maisky, Sheku Kanneh-Mason, Alisa Weilerstein, and Pieter Wispelwey join forces in concert to benefit cellobello.org, a free, accessible-to-all site that provides lessons, masterclasses, interviews, and interactive live-streamed chats with renowned artist-teachers. The gala, hosted by Mike Block, will include a Q&A with several of the artists. Note: There is a "listen later" option that allows ticket holders a limited 24-hour window to view the stream once the link is distributed during the week following the concert.

Sunday, October 11
3:00pm EDT, 2:00pm CT, 1:00pm MT, 12:00pm PT
Tickets: $100
Presented by: cellobello.org
Register

Stefan’s Sessions

Violinist Stefan Jackiw has already held two "sessions" in which he worked with young players on the violin concertos of Tchaikovsky and Sibelius. (I can personally tell you they were stellar!) In his third session, he will tackle Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E Minor. In this online format, students perform virtually for Stefan and he provides real-time feedback and demonstration.

Friday, October 16
Time: To be announced to registrants
Tickets: Free, but registration is required
Register

Philippe Quint: Charlie Chaplin's Smile

Violinist Philippe Quint has put together an extraordinary multi-media performance that features the music of Charlie Chaplin - whom so many know as a great comedian and filmmaker. But his gifts as a musician were plentiful - he could play, compose and even conduct. Quint features musical hits from Chaplin's soundtracks to "City Lights," "Modern Times", "The Great Dictator", "Monsieur Verdoux" and "Gold Rush." Besides his music performance, Quint also features photographs, videoclips and stories.

Saturday, October 17
8:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m. CT, 6:30 p.m. MT, 5:30 p.m. PT
Tickets: $20 livestream, $70 in-person (Chicago)
Presented by North Shore Chamber Music Festival
Register

Sunday, October 18
3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT, noon PT
Tickets: $20 livestream, $70 in-person (Chicago)
Presented by North Shore Chamber Music Festival
Register

Anne Akiko Meyers: Tour of Japan

The opening concert of California's New West Symphony will feature LA-based violinist Anne Akiko Meyers performing the Bach Concerto for Two Violins in D minor with New West Symphony concertmaster Alyssa Park and NWS musicians, conducted by Michael Christie. The program also includes a performance by Pasadena-based Makoto Taiko, a Japanese drum ensemble, San Diego-based koto performer Reiko Obata, and pianist Benjamin Krasner, a New West Symphony Quick Bowman Competition winner. The program is inspired by Japanese educator and musician Shinichi Suzuki, who founded the Suzuki Method of teaching music, combined with the mesmerizing sounds of Japanese traditional music and music from Japan over recent decades.

Sunday, October 18
3 p.m. PT; 4 p.m. MT; 5 p.m. CT; 6 p.m. ET

Ticket $15
Presented by the New West Symphony
Register

Gil Shaham: Global Concert Hall

Gil Shaham performs works by Bach, Scott Wheeler, Max Raimi, and Reena Ismail. The concert will be streamed live from Fraser Performance Studio at WGBH in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.

Sunday, October 18
11 a.m. PT, noon MT, 1 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. ET

Tuesday, October 20
1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET

Tickets: $9.90 (must have a free Idagio account to purchase)
Presented by Global Concert Hall
Register

Replies

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Silent Violin
Yamaha Silent Violin

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning
Violinist.com Guide to Online Learning

Antonio Strad Violin

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases

Fiddlerman.com

Fiddlershop

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Violin-Strings.com

Metzler Violin Shop

Leatherwood Bespoke Rosin

Warchal

Barenreiter

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of Violinist.com in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews.

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn

Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2
Violinist.com Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine

Subscribe