Printer-friendly version

Iyer - Symphony No. 2

Joshua Iyer

Written by
Published: May 3, 2015 at 8:47 PM [UTC]

Our final project in AP English IV asks us to use some form of media (play, sonnet, short story, music, painting, etc.) to explain our thoughts on what it means to be human. For my project, which I just finished today, I chose to write a symphony with the four movements ranging from life to death (Birth, Childhood, Adulthood, Death). Not only did I do music, I put together two videos with pictures and quotes and performed guitar and violin solos within the piece. The project in its entirety took roughly two months to complete (I began planning the piece as soon as I got the paper back in March), as I had a break from working on it during spring break going to Italy where I sketched other stuff instead like my string quartet. I included lots of content within the videos themselves besides the music to help explain what's going on. Hope you enjoy!

Note: The link below leads to a playlist of two videos, each containing half of the symphony.

Click here to listen!

This entry has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

JR Judd Violins
JR Judd Violins

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases Shopping Guide Shopping Guide

Metzler Violin Shop

Southwest Strings

Bobelock Cases

Johnson String Instrument/Carriage House Violins

Jargar Strings

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop


Los Angeles Violin Shop


String Masters

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Laurie's Books

Discover the best of in these collections of editor Laurie Niles' exclusive interviews. Interviews Volume 1 Interviews Volume 1, with introduction by Hilary Hahn Interviews Volume 2 Interviews Volume 2, with introduction by Rachel Barton Pine