Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Perfection Pegs

Instruments: I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with these pegs and what your thoughts are on them.

From Michael Robbins
Posted March 6, 2007 at 05:23 AM

Hello, Everybody.

I have been an avid reader of violinst.com for some time and have learned so much from each and every one of you.

Here is my question/problem:

I am an older student and am having issues with my wrist, i.e., arthritis, carpal tunnel. There are times when it is an effort for me to tune my violin because of the way the top of the peg is turned. I discussed this with my teacher and she suggested I try “Perfection Pegs.”

I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with these pegs and what your thoughts are on them.

Further information on these pegs can be found at www.knilling.com

Thanks!!

From Craig Paulaha
Posted on March 6, 2007 at 05:49 AM
I just sent a set of perfection pegs to china to have them installed on my new violin. ( Being made by Bai Li Xing). I probably won't have it until April. I'll let you know how they work when it arrives.
From Michael Richwine
Posted on March 6, 2007 at 01:24 PM
I've got them on both my violins and I absolutely love them. No fine tuners, even on the E, and tuning is very smooth, easy and accurate, with no slipping. They also eliminate wear and tear on the peg box, and should eliminate peg maintenance. The elimination of fine tuners also eliminates the danger of scratching the top, not to mention it looks great!

Installation is very easy, as long as you read the instructions and take note that there are "left" and "right" pegs.

From Gary Mak
Posted on March 6, 2007 at 03:50 PM
how do you buy it from knillings? they don't have any links for that.
From Hope Paolotto
Posted on March 6, 2007 at 04:07 PM
I am pretty sure you can only buy knilling violins from a knilling dealer. Many music stores carry these.