Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

String players with chronic pain syndromes

Health: Anyone have anything to say about string players with chronic pain syndromes (fibromyalgia, arthritis, chronic fatigue, etc.)?

From Emily Liz
Posted October 20, 2006 at 05:27 AM

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia at the age of nine and Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome at the age of ten. (EDS is the connective tissue disorder that Paganini is rumored to have had.) Around that time, I started playing the violin. It took a few years, but I eventually fell deeply in love with not only the instrument, but the whole culture of classical music. At the same time, I have been learning to live with chronic pain and fatigue. These two parts of me have always been intertwined, for better and for worse.

It is, at times, very difficult. There are lots of questions. How do you keep a regular practice regimen going, especially over periods of time when you’re ill or in extreme pain? How do you keep cheerful after those long breaks and you realize how much ability you’ve lost? What kinds of adaptive aids do you use, not only in your music, but in your everyday life, to preserve your strength? How do you find doctors and health care providers who understand your seemingly crazy decision to keep plugging away at your musical studies, despite the fact it often makes you hurt? How do you find high-quality music teachers who understand? If the chronic illness takes a financial toll on the family, how do you pursue serious studies on a shoestring budget? (This is a biggie.) How do you handle the periodic - and sometimes intense - anger toward your disobedient body? Those with chronic illnesses, or those who have family or friends with chronic illnesses, know what I'm talking about.