Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Various Newbie Questions

Instruments: How does paint type affect a violin? How can one find a good beginner violin on a tight budget? Is there really an optimum age for learning?

From Samantha Grimes
Posted October 19, 2006 at 05:03 AM

I'm admittedly completely new to the world of violin, though I've been dying to learn for ages.
I wanted to learn as a child but we simply didn't have the money for it. I grew up in england where it was compulsory to learn music in school, but found the teachers very unattentive to those who weren't already in the school orchestra.
Despite this, having been boning up on my music theory these last few weeks, I realise I did learn quite a bit which I have retained well enough.
I'm 21 now and want to pick up violin. I'm not very good at piano so I'm nervous that I might just plain suck at it. I'm very determined however and have looked into having one-on-one lessons nearby.

So, here's my barrage of newbie questions. :)

Does the colour of the violin affect it's quality? For example, if one was to buy a blue violin, can they assume the sound quality would be worse than the same violin with a natural wood finish? (I'm awfully fond of the black violins, but am worried it would sound terrible.)
Also, is there a cut off age for really becoming good at the violin, or is it subjective? I've heard people say you have to start at 4 or so if you want to get anywhere, which has added to my apprehension.