Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Fingers, Hands, Wrists and Arms

Health: How does one improve strength and flexibility when not playing the violin?

From deborah mitchell
Posted March 24, 2006 at 06:35 AM

Hi,

I'm *still* recovering from my broken shoulder, but have made enough progress to give the violin another shot. Please give me advice on exercises to do away from the violin to improve the strength and flexibility of my fingers, hands, wrists and arms.

As I'm a rank beginner, no exercise is too rudimentary for me. And none too silly or child-like, either.

Silly 'R Us.

thanks,
debby

From Suresh Brady
Posted on March 24, 2006 at 06:59 AM
Viola chucking.

The Australian Commonwealth games hammer team actually do this as violas here are cheaper than hammers.

Silly'R'We

SB

From Jenna Potts
Posted on March 24, 2006 at 06:49 PM
That would also be a great way to develop perfect pitch, you know.

"Perfect pitch: thowing a viola into a dumpster without hitting the rim."

j/k :-)

From William Wolcott
Posted on March 24, 2006 at 07:05 PM
Here are some links that may help (not violin related, but still pretty thorough):

http://biomed.brown.edu/Courses/BI108/BI108_2004_Groups/Group01/ptRE.htm

http://www.sportsinjurybulletin.com/archive/0034-shoulder-injuries.htm

Really, I just Googled 'shoulder rehab exercises' (no quotes)

Hope this helps...

From vincent skowronski
Posted on March 24, 2006 at 07:48 PM
Deborah: