Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Easiest to Toughest Concertos?

Repertoire: How would you rank the concertos in terms of difficulty?

From Terez Mertes
Posted November 21, 2005 at 01:49 AM

Hi, I'm new here, although I've been lurking and reading posts for several months. I'm an adult beginner - thus the idiot questions I'll be asking. However, I'm writing a story from the perspective of an experienced violinist - thus the questions one might think shouldn't be a concern for a beginner.

I'm curious to know what people consider to be the easiest to the hardest of the violin concertos, maybe a list from 1 to 10 (although I know there are more). In particular, where does the Brahms rank? And the Sibelius? Would someone play the Sibelius concerto for an international competition? If not, what (Romantic) concerto do the top-notch players perform at competitions?

Thanks in advance for your answers to the silly questions I know I'm going to be asking in the next few months. (Like... is vibrato some sort of secret handshake you only learn after being in the club for two years?!)

Cheers!

From Jonathan Frohnen
Posted on November 21, 2005 at 02:04 AM
Brahms would rate a 7, Sibelius would rate a 9, Schoenberg rates a 10, Bazzini #1 rates a 9, Beethoven would be a 6...I have a great book by Burnett Toskey that would be quite helpful "Concertos for Violin and Viola: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia" this has all concertos listed, many have been reviewed/summed up by Toskey. Rare book, I won't type them all out for you but if you give me a short list or ask me of a few concertos, I will help you out.

Cordially,

Jon

From Joseph Galamba
Posted on November 21, 2005 at 02:34 AM
Hey, do you know how Dohnanyi would rate against the really common concertos (say...bruch mendelssohn, beethoven, tchaikovsky, etc.)

I've always been curious...^^

From Jonathan Frohnen
Posted on November 21, 2005 at 02:55 AM