Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Chaconne by Tomaso Vitali (attributed)

Technique and Practicing: How difficult is this piece to play?

From Candace Seals
Posted May 8, 2005 at 05:21 AM

I have a recording of it by Sarah Chang and I'm totally entralled. Of course, I'm a new student of less than a year so almost everything sounds difficult. How difficult is is on a scale of 1 - 10? I started at 42 and wonder if I will ever be able to play some of these songs. Thoughts?

From jennifer steinfeldt warren
Posted on May 8, 2005 at 07:13 AM
Harder than Vivaldi.
Easier than the Bach Ciaconne.
It is hard to compare this piece to a romantic conerto because they take different skills in my opinion. I had a student play this piece very well, but was a bit lost on the Bruch. I think to do the piece justice, you should be already working out of Kreutzer and Flesch. It is hard to say on 1-10 also, because what is 10? Is 1 twinkle? Anyhow. Great piece.
Sals,
JW
From Yoni Weisbrod
Posted on May 8, 2005 at 11:54 AM
Hi there! I'm studying the Vitali Ciaconna (Chaconne) right now, and it's taking me quite a while. I'm at the level where I'm doign kreutzer's and some sevcik's, etc. To give you some hope - my teacher tells me that it's more of a showpiece, and it is meant to sound difficult and enthralling. However, the technique required is not the hardest in the world. Lots of luck!
From Kenny Choy
Posted on May 8, 2005 at 06:11 PM
This commonly performed version of the Vitali Chaconne is heavily edited by Ferdinand David. If you like the piece but find the technical bits difficult, try the "most authentic" version published by Bärenreiter in the Hortus Musicus series. Although that isn't the most original, since the Vitali's manuscript is nowhere found, it does give you a hint of how close to the original this piece should be played.
From Kelsey Z.
Posted on May 8, 2005 at 05:31 PM