Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Tendonitis...

Health: In the right deltoid...

From Tommy Atkinson
Posted March 31, 2005 at 05:19 AM

So I have been diagnosed with tendonitis in my right deltoid... (that's the upper arm, for those of you who don't know). I was wondering whether anyone else had tendonitis and what you did to manage it. My doctor gave me some anti-inflammatory medication and told me to ice it... any suggestions? I'm a sophomore violin performance major, btw, so how do I manage it while still keeping up my practice?

From Nick Bleisch
Posted on March 31, 2005 at 05:57 AM
Acupuncture, Alexander Technique. massagetherapy.

Also there's a great book written by a cellist who had tendonitis problems, called Playing (Less) Hurt I really recommend.

From Christian Vachon
Posted on March 31, 2005 at 12:02 PM
Hi,

Tommy, the first and important advice is DON'T PRACTICE THROUGH AN INJURY! I really mean this, it you do, it will only get worst. Violin is a sport in essence, and athletes know better than to keep training through an injury. As hard as this may be to hear, and I know that this situation bites, heal first, then start playing again. In the meantime, think of what you may have been doing wrong that could have caused the injury in the first place so that you don't get injured again once you start playing again.

GOOK LUCK and Cheers!

From tristan torriani
Posted on March 31, 2005 at 12:51 PM
I had tendonitis in the hands and sought an occupational therapist specialized in hands. She had several available techniques and it really solved my problem. In your case you might want to talk to a physiotherapist too.
From Tommy Atkinson
Posted on March 31, 2005 at 05:36 PM
Thanks for the help, guys! I'm going to try and take it easy for a while until I'm at top form again... and I'm definitely going to look into getting some specialized advice as opposed to just my general doctor.