Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Jacob Steiner's violins (and their sound)

Instruments: Looking for information on Jacob Steiner's violins and the sound they make

From Peter Lynch
Posted November 13, 2004 at 01:16 AM

I am looking for information related to Jacob Steiner's violins. Those who read this site know that I am a new adult student. (Hopefully the amount of my posts are not too much). I am not only interested in playing, I am interested in making. I am an serious amature furnature maker and with falling in love with the violin, I am also drawn to the making of the violins. I have come across information about Jacob Steiner and how sweet sounding his instruments are.

Does anyone have any information on people who play his instruments, or contemporary makers who base their violins on his. Who are they, what recording are there of this sound.

After "test driving" a number of violins, I am much more drawn to the mellow, sweeter sounding ones and thought that from the written descriptions, Steiner's violins make a sound that I would enjoy. Any input about this would be greatly appreciated.

Peter

From Joseph Franke
Posted on November 13, 2004 at 09:41 PM
Linda Quan of the Aulos Ensemble plays a Stainer. She recorded a Bach accompanied sonata on it for Musical Heritage.
From Thomas McEvilley
Posted on November 14, 2004 at 08:36 AM
I have never played a satisfactory sounding Stainer copy, and I have tried many fine ones by master makers.
From Melanie Kaboy
Posted on November 15, 2004 at 01:38 PM
From what I know, there are two different makes that are being spoken of in this thread - Steiner and Stainer. I believe the post was originally talking about the former - Steiner. From what I've heard, Steiner violins are rather rugged and not as refined as some violins with a rather cruel sound. Am I right or totally off base?
From Peter Lynch
Posted on November 15, 2004 at 03:03 PM