Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Bow Arm Movement

Technique and Practicing: I'm a beginner and I'm really confused about these opposite techniques.

From Priscila Becker
Posted July 7, 2004 at 04:34 AM

Hello everybody,
I've been studying Sevcik op.1 ex.11 (for the right hand)and my teacher told me I should move my arm as a whole keeping the wrist still. But, I studied with another teacher a few months ago, who told me that in these cases I should move ONLY my wrist, keeping the arm still. I'm a beginner and I'm really confused about these opposite techniques. I wish some of you could help me...

Thanks,
Priscila

From janet griffiths
Posted on July 7, 2004 at 03:48 PM
Yes,and I would disagree with both sets of advice.I don't want to confuse you further but try to draw small clockwise circles with your hand.Keep your arm and your hand completely relaxed and study the natural movements.You will note that there is both arm movement and wrist movement.If you play this rotary movement on the violin with a relaxed arm the movements will be very similar.
From Jasmine Reese
Posted on July 7, 2004 at 03:45 PM