Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

What are the good violins brands?

Instruments: What do you pay for a really good violin? Does the brand really matter in the end?

From Niko Gordon
Posted July 4, 2004 at 06:29 AM

I'm just starting to learn the violin, and have a really cheap one (It cost only $100 new). I'm trying to learn about what brands or models are good so that eventually I can upgrade to a better one.

What do you pay for a really good violin? Does the brand really matter in the end?

Thanks,
Skye

From Aaron Ong
Posted on July 4, 2004 at 07:48 AM
Well Niko, most good violins do not have "brands". Rather they are known by their maker's names. A famous example would be violins made by Antonio Stradivari of Cremona, Italy. His violins regularly run in the hundreds of thousands of dollars. His "Messiah" violin has an estimated value of 10 million sterling pounds, the most valuable in the world I think (Source: BBC.com) Of course most good violins come in affordable price ranges too. A good violin for performance or advanced practise would cost from a few hundred dollars to thousands of dollars.

A cheap violin is a good idea for a beginner like you but you should think about upgrading as you go along. - AARON

From Maximillian Tresmond
Posted on July 4, 2004 at 02:25 PM
Isn't Il Canone the most valuable violin?

I once read that in the 1920s, a gentleman offered to pay twenty-five million dollars for the instrument.

From Aaron Ong
Posted on July 4, 2004 at 03:15 PM
Well that's news to me, Max. Violinists, what's your idea of the most expensive violin in the world today? - AARON
From owen sutter
Posted on July 5, 2004 at 02:45 AM