Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

What's the Difference between Cheap and Expensive Bows?

Instruments: Brazilwood or pernambuco? And other questions....

From Aaron Ong
Posted June 26, 2004 at 10:06 PM

Hi I just bought a George Kloz 1737 violin. It came without a bow so I used the bow from a cheap Skylark violin. A bow like this would cost only about $10, perhaps less. But I hear there are bows costing in the thousands. Just what are the main differences between these cheap and expensive bows. To me (I'm an amateur violinist) they are nothing more than a piece of stick and a bunch of horsehair. Would more expensive bows give better sound quality? Also what do good violinists prefer, brazilwood or pernambuco wood for the stick? Do bows really affect sound quality? Please advise - Aaron - Malaysia.

From owen sutter
Posted on June 26, 2004 at 10:28 PM
bows do affect sound quality, but more importantly they affect your technique quite a bit. Certain things are harder or impossible with a cheap bow. I'm not sure how advanced you are but try some spicatto with string crossing and you'll notice its rather difficult. Even long legato passages are much harder with a crappy bow. Finally ALL the great sticks i've ever used were pernambuco, but i'm sure they could be good brazilwood too.
From Eric Livingston
Posted on June 26, 2004 at 10:51 PM
Pernambuco is, of course, the wood of choice for excellent bows. It has a density, resiliency, and appearance that is best-suited to archetiere. Brazilwood has more difficulty responding to advanced bow technique; often times the sound is unfocused and cloudy. Its feedback to the right hand can often be "clubby," especially for long sostenuto or sautille.

I own several excellent bows, but my favorite for performance is actually a carbon-fibre Righetti. It is extremely focused, and I can never ask more of it than what it can deliver.