Long neck issue

October 13, 2016 at 08:41 PM · I've been playing for around 7 years now but I never really feel comfortable in terms of how the violin is positioned. I always feel like I have to angle my head down uncomfortably and unconsciously clamp down on the violin.

I've tried both Kun and Everest shoulder rests both with longer screws and it still doesn't feel comfortable, although the Everest is a little better.

Recently I've been playing a lot more, up to around 7 hours a day on days with orchestra rehearsal, and my neck has started to hurt, specifically on the right side of the neck, and it hurts more if I turn my head to the left.

I'm not even totally sure if I'm using shoulder rests correctly at this point... My shoulder rest is as far back (towards the scroll) as it can go on the side under my chin, while I see almost everyone else having it much closer to the neck. I've tried it that way but it always felt weird. I don't know if that actually matters though.

Does anyone have any suggestions for dealing with this?

Replies (10)

October 13, 2016 at 08:46 PM · Is your primary support your collarbone (hopefully) or your shoulder via shoulder rest?

October 13, 2016 at 08:49 PM · The violin is on my collarbone I think, while the shoulder rest is more on my pectorals/right below my shoulder.

What do you mean by primary support?

October 14, 2016 at 12:53 AM · By primary support, Dorian certainly meant that the violin's back is actually touching your collarbone at the point nearest to your neck, and the shoulder rest simply fills the space (closest to the violin's finger board) between the back of instrument and the outer end of your shoulder. I.e. the violin isn't resting solely on the shoulder rest, which in turns is resting on your shoulder. I have a long neck and find that raising the SR doesn't work for me, it creates tension in the right shoulder, which impacts on the quality of tone production. Raising the Chin Rest was a much better solution.