Praeludium and Allegro

October 13, 2016 at 05:43 AM · Hey guys:)

I'm a student preparing for my Certificate of Performance exam in November (AAAAHHH) and one of my pieces is Praeludium and Allegro. I'm struggling to find relevant general knowledge information. Does anyone have any tips for general knowledge and how much I need to know?

Greatly appreciated, thanks.

Replies (6)

October 13, 2016 at 06:58 AM · Well, Kreisler wrote this and many other original works that he attributed to other composers (like Pugnani) that he included on concert programs, with the explanation that he did not want to have his name repeated endlessly.

This piece in particular, the music critic for the NYT, Olin Downes, was trying to find out information about because he was covering Yehudi Menuhin's wartime performances for Allied troops and called the publisher for details. They in turn told him to talk to Kreisler directly, who then confessed authorship of the work (and a number of others) in question. They engaged in a back-and-forth letter writing duel in the Times, to the great entertainment and amusement of the populace that followed the drama. History gives Kreisler the positive nod on this one, and his original compositions "in the style of" other composers are now played by nearly everyone.

There's a wonderful book on Kreisler, "Fritz Kreisler: Love's Sorrow, Love's Joy" by Amy Biancolli. It's where I got this information, and it's a fascinating read, well worth the purchase. Lots of used copies everywhere!

October 13, 2016 at 01:49 PM · You're a student learning this piece and you can't figure out what key it's in?

If that were bad enough, I just Googled "how to tell what key a piece of music is in" and immediately got an explanation.

Why is it that, with so many resources available on the internet, so many students, including graduate students, want information handed to them on a platter without any effort?