Place to rent a carbon fiber violin?

October 5, 2016 at 02:02 PM · Hi all - does anyone know where I would be able to rent / borrow a carbon fiber violin, short term?

It's a bit involved if I try to explain the entire story, but td;lr, I'm a physics undergrad and I'm interested in conducting experiments on the physical properties of a composite violin, aka carbon fiber violin, for my senior project. Yes, I am a violinist too! My violin is made by a physicist (amazing, I know!), and he expressed interest toward helping. Right now, I'm just looking at options and scope for this project.

Thanks for your reply!

Replies (9)

October 5, 2016 at 04:15 PM · What part of the country are you located, and how long a time would you need to borrow it?

October 5, 2016 at 07:25 PM · Hi Wesley, my shop Bay Fine Strings has a Luis & Clark carbon fiber violin available for your project, I could certainly help you with that if you want to send me a PM or an email to

October 5, 2016 at 10:52 PM · I'm envious of your option for senior project.

October 5, 2016 at 11:27 PM · Hi Dave, I'm currently in (Northern) California, and I would want to borrow it for three weeks-one month at max (during January).

Thomas, thank you! I'll send an email to you soon about this.

Steven, it's a perk of liberal arts colleges! (though I've heard other schools don't even have any sort of senior project)

Thanks everyone for your replies! -Wesley

October 6, 2016 at 12:51 AM · When your experiment is done, can you share the details/results with us? :)

October 6, 2016 at 12:58 AM · Wesley, I did my senior project up here in Canada on qualifying particle detectors(muon, in particular sTGC for ATLAS at CERN). My school specializes in particle and medical physics, and I cannot even suggest a project I'd like to work on, because all of the faculty members are already engaged in heavy research that they want to train new students on.