Fine Tuners/Afterlength

October 5, 2016 at 03:23 AM · I thought I would pose another subjective, controversial, and immeasurable question, as it pertains to something I've been trying to decide. Today I just got my violin back from my luthier after having some work done to the pegs (and some other things I didn't particularly mention, but he touched up anyways. It's like he read my mind...). Before, I had to have fine tuners on all strings, as it was simply impossible to tune otherwise. Now that the pegs tune very smoothly I am able to tune without the use of the fine tuners, so I decided to remove the ones from the a, d, & g. Though, I will say it is a lot quicker to overcome those last few cents with fine tuners than the pegs. Albeit, I'm not very experienced tuning with pegs yet.

So, here's the question, do you think your violin performs particularly better in some capacity from having the strings in contact with the tail piece as opposed to the fine tuners? If so, when do you notice it makes an effect? If not, then why not leave them on for the ease of tuning, especially in scenarios where you need to tune up accurately quickly (i.e. got to rehearsal late, or something of the sort).

Replies (14)

October 5, 2016 at 03:35 AM · Violins sound better with only an E fine tuner. If you do use 4 fine tuners, you should use a tailpiece designed for that.

October 5, 2016 at 04:14 AM · @Lydia Many have said that, as well as the opposite. What I'm asking is if anyone can qualify the differences. I don't know that I can say I hear the difference in what I'm playing with/without them, but I'm also not playing any difficult/demanding music that would push my instrument in a manner that I would expect one.