Seasonal pause in violin playing

October 2, 2016 at 05:24 AM · Hello, I wanted to start a discussion regarding seasonal pause in violin playing in non-professional violin players.

As a hobbyist, my career is else than violin playing, but violin playing is very pleasurable. Now, as my seasonal busy-ness returns as my grad school continues, I am starting to find an extremely hard time finding even one hour per day to practice. In addition, my seasonal arthritis is returning, and I am unfortunately left with no other options than to stop playing until next summer.

I am still trying to make time for it. One of the biggest hindrance is that I am never home, other than to eat or sleep. Which means I can either carry the violin with me the whole day, or just leave it at home. As I have a shared office I can't just let it sit there on my desk.

I also visit clean labs, and teach, the violin clearly cannot come with me, so my compromise this weekend was to buy a metal/wood chest that is extremely awkward to carry, and have it filled with weights at the bottom, and keep my violin locked in it while I am not in my office. I keep the chest under my desk. It was hard to fit in my car, and it certainly was very awkward to carry it by myself even empty. While I trust my officemates to my locked office, I don't quite trust their visitors, and I think this chest will literally slow down any potential theft(It's a bit funny because I was comfortable leaving $7000 palm-size x-ray source lying around on my desk, but I can't bear to leave my violin alone.).

I think by doing this, I am buying myself 30 mins violin break per day in my office. However when arthritis really comes back, I will really have to stop playing.

I'm curious, have anyone else had experienced seasonal on-and-off relationship with violin playing? This year, from January to March, I played my violin only 5 times.

Replies (22)