Teaching Adult Beginners to tune?

September 26, 2016 at 09:19 PM · Teachers of adult students (or older teens), do you teach your student to tune their violin from the beginning? Why or why not?

If you do, do you teach them using a tuner or by ear? Why?

Replies (21)

September 26, 2016 at 09:39 PM · I'm just a student, but I don't see why you wouldn't; especially in the case of teens/adults. If they don't know how to tune then how can they practice in tune... Perhaps for 5 year old children tuning could be a tad difficult, but an adult or teen should be able to get it down fairly easily. Probably would recommend to make sure they have quality strings on their instrument though. Those dollar store tin can grade strings that factories put on cheap vso's can take an eye out. What you teach a student to tune to is a difficult concept though, and I'll leave that to someone much more qualified to explain.

September 26, 2016 at 09:46 PM · Nope, my teacher tuned the violin for me during the first weeks. Then, when I was practicing, I do tuned my violin myself, using a tuner, but because I learnt by myself. Sometimes I tried to tune it by ear, but I failed, hahaha, so I rechecked with the tuner. My teacher never "wasted" one class explaining me how to properly tune by ear.

I wouldn't recommend tuning the violin at the beginning since it's a difficult task to do and you get nervous because the strings do weird sounds and it seems it's gonna broke, that may scare the student, hahaha. Eventually, when the student starts to develop a good sound and his ear is getting better, I would spend some time teaching him how to tune.

In the other hand, tuning is so important, and I'd understand if someone here says the opposite of what I said.