Repertoire for a Senior Solo

September 12, 2016 at 12:30 AM · Hey Guys,

Right now I'm a Sophomore in high school, and I'm starting too consider what piece I would like to play for qualification as a senior soloist. Getting a senior solo is very competitive (but possible) so I spoke with my teacher on what I should focus on in order to secure a spot. She mentioned that a lot of times standing out as a violinist is hard, and even though their are usually only 7-8 applicants, it comes to the fine details that separate one from another. They pick 4, because we do 4 concerts a year. Right now, I'm learning the Mendelssohn violin concerto, but I find myself struggling to not over romanticize the phrasing, as Mendelssohn was a classical composer.

My teacher says this is a very normal phase in a musicians life, as it is the time when one's musical interpretation evolves into higher concepts that go above 'What sounds good' and 'What the composer meant to write'.

Leaving that aside, I was thinking that the piece that I want to choose should not be too orchestra heavy, as many of the players lack solid technical support, even though it is the highest orchestra.

Any suggestions of suitable repertoire?

Sorry if this seems very unscripted.

Thank you so much,

Replies (25)

September 12, 2016 at 12:32 AM · Maybe tchaikovsky? Sibelius? I'm actually 13 and those two songs are my main goal before I go to college.... So?

September 12, 2016 at 12:37 AM · Even though I have two years, I don't know if I have what it takes, especially to pull it off with grace and emotion. It is a goal, but probably not as a high schooler. Also I feel like the above pieces put a lot of stress on the orchestra, which I don't really think is a good idea. Do you see what I'm saying?

September 12, 2016 at 01:13 AM · Bruch G minor is a wonderful romantic concerto. What other concerto pieces have you worked on?