Hello! New adult player.

September 3, 2016 at 11:05 AM · Hello everyone!

I am a very new adult beginner (5 weeks of lessons once a week at 45 minutes). I have played other instruments in the past for a short while, but never touched a violin. They have always been a little out of my price range. I am currently in China though, and I got a decent enough beginner's violin. It stays in tune pretty well and the sound is tolerable to play.

I don't really know anything about violin, except I like the way it sounds and can be used in different types of music. I also don't know very much about music in general except that I can appreciate listening to it.

My first week of lessons, I was just given finger exercises to practice, and practice holding the bow and the violin, but not actually playing. Just getting used to the feel. I don't have a textbook, but I am given sheet music to work on. Anyway, it is now my 5th week, and I am working on Pachelbel's Canon and Ode to Joy. I know Ode to Joy is pretty standard for a beginner, but the Ode to Joy I am familiar with is a little simpler than what I was given. No problem though. I know the sound, I can kind of read sheet music, but it takes me a while to recognize what the notes are and where they might be in relation to the violin strings.

Right now, I have a difficult time getting up to or going past 30 minutes of practice at a time. I usually try to get in at least two practice sessions a day, but my second is always only 15 minutes or so. More than that, I start getting more sloppy and less focused, and my arm starts hurting from getting tense, which I am assuming would lead to bad practice and habits in the long term. I know I am supposed to stay relaxed but ti is difficult. Any tips or suggestions on improving the time and quality of my practice? (Besides the obvious of continue practicing and building endurance haha.)

Replies (7)