Age of the violinist VS years playing the violin

August 26, 2016 at 08:05 AM · Hi, I've been asking this question since I started playing the violin last year:

Why does it matter age so much, instead of the years you've been playing the violin?

I don't know, imagine a 14 years old violinist who can play the Mendelssohn violin concerto really great. Everyone would say that violinist is a prodigy.

Nevertheless, if a 26 years old violinist do the same, it does not impress that much, and almost everyone would focus on the mistakes and point them out.

Let's say the 14 years old violinst started at age of 4, but the 26 years old started at the age of 21 years.

Isn't the 26 years old violinist way better than the first one?

That violinist clearly is accelerating and learning to play the violin way faster than the kid, so in 5 years more there will be a clear difference between them, being the kid worse than the old violinist.

Nevertheless, I'm 100% sure any music school/conservatory would pick the kid.

Replies (38)

August 26, 2016 at 08:17 AM · How good will the 14yo be by the time he is an adult? At 26 you should be already working as a musician, if that is your career path.

Cheers Carlo

August 26, 2016 at 09:06 AM · Because 10 years of learning from age 5 will get you much further on the violin than 10 years of learning from age 25.

I wish it wasn't so but that's the way it is. If you are a late starter like me than tough luck !

August 26, 2016 at 09:55 AM · Very interesting post , don't give up your dreams , doesn't matter what people might think and say , you are enjoying music and play your best and people around you support it and love it , it's amazing.Its what music for I believe . Same here when I asked people opinion about being professional in violin playing when I am already 34. Get rejected right away. Now I am thinking , this kind of career , you are young there is hope . You are over 30. You are retired . Game over ;(