How to become a professional violinist ?

August 25, 2016 at 09:37 AM · Hello . I have been playing violin for about ten years . I had starting to have violin lesson with Suzuki method up to book 5 when I was 23 until 27 and after that I stopped taking violin lesson . Now I am 34 year old and decide to get my professional degree in violin performing . Is it possible ? I have no clue , which schools should I attend ? , where to take an audition?,is there any scholarship avail for adult returning school ?, do I really need to travel oversea or move to Europe for a private violin lesson?......etc . Thank you so much for any of you guys recommendation .

Replies (23)

August 25, 2016 at 12:20 PM · At the age of 34, unless you are already playing the romantic concertos, Paganini caprices, and such, with good fluency, you are unlikely to transform yourself into a professional violinist. There are a few *very rare* cases of "late starters" but that term usually refers to someone who started at the age of 12. Your odds are better in the Powerball.

August 25, 2016 at 12:42 PM · I am sorry to say that Paul is correct. You can probably find an amateur orchestra to join or find some friends to form a string quartet to enrich your life but there is zero likelihood you could become a professional violinist. Music makes a great avocation, though, and I encourage you to find ways to pursue that.

August 25, 2016 at 03:04 PM · I would say the same thing as Paul and Mary Ellen, with one caveat: What country do you live in? What is the level of professional violinists in your country? What do they do to make a living? What is unrealistic for someone in the US or Western Europe might be feasible for someone who lives in a country where the expected standard of a professional player is fairly low.

What level are you currently playing it? (Most recent repertoire and etudes?)