Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Help with Navigating the fingerboard

Technique and Practicing: I would like help with finding my way around.

From Kheenan Walkins
Posted January 3, 2013 at 06:27 AM

Hello all. I am an intermediate violin student, hoping to be ready for grade 8 this year. I have a few technical problems and I would like some recommendations on one of them.
I have no idea how to navigate the higher positions. I play things up there as sort of a guessing game. After practicing for while I could get things with reasonable accuracy, but if I'm stopped at any point and asked "what note is that?" I have no clue. I would have to fiddle around and think really hard to figure out what note it is.

Is there any course of exercises that someone could recommend that I can go through to sort of build a mental map of the fingerboard?

I have Carl Flesh's scale book, but I play those exercises by "ear" and not very well. I just sort of know what the third octave would sound like based on the first 2 but I have no idea really what note I'm playing at any given time.

From Eugenia Fielding
Posted on January 3, 2013 at 03:16 PM
Hi, I had the same problem, but I didn't fix it as early as you! First, don't play scales by ear. Mark the shifts and positions on your music. Know exactly what finger you're using and where you will shift. Before you play the scale, think, shift to e with first finger. Be in 7th position, shift on c to first finger, be in 5th position, etc.

Also, get suzuki book 1 and play all the songs in 2nd position. Then in 4th, 5th, 6th. Then an octave higher.

That's what helped me. Hope it helps you!

From Rocky Milankov
Posted on January 3, 2013 at 04:27 PM
scales, scales & scales
From Gene Wie
Posted on January 3, 2013 at 07:53 PM
Have you tried mapping the distance that your fingers travel in half and whole steps?