Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Violin tuner software.

Accessories: Do you use one? What are the good one? What would you expect from it?

From Pirisino Romain
Posted April 18, 2012 at 04:17 PM

Hi,

I'm an adult beginner student, so my ears aren't very well trained.
I'm currently using AP Tuner, on my computer to tune my violin. It's not that bad, but I feel that some things are missing (like saving my A at 442Hz).

So question come to my mind.
Do you ever used computer software to tune you're violin, and which one?

I've even touched the idea of developing one (hard thing, their seem to be a lot of maths involved).
What would you expect from it?

From John Cadd
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 05:16 PM
You don`t need to be spot on any frequency for solo playing. If a piano is involved they start going out of tune as soon as the tuner goes out the door. Tuners will tell you that. You can hear a difference of a fifth without any tuners. Learn how that works. Learn about slowing down the beats. Woodwind instruments change pitch as the room gets warmer. They move in the opposite direction to strings , I think. You better check that. Most intonation is on a movable table . Some famous violin players have a different idea of intonation. There is a report about a Russian acoustician comparing Oistrakh and 2 other famous players who used different frequencies in the same music. He analysed their recordings . They had a different idea of pitch relationships or adjusted for the music they were playing. Artistic choices . Also can you define pitch with vibrato ? Compare Casals with Jackie Dupre in The Swan. Big differences can be heard. Both great musicians .
From Shawn Boucke
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 05:57 PM
Cleartune for iPhone ($.99)
G-strings for Android (free)

Both have amazing options, even able to change the temperament.

From Patrick Tinney
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 10:47 PM