Welcome! Log in, or Join

Printer-friendly version

Violin tuner software.

Accessories: Do you use one? What are the good one? What would you expect from it?

From Pirisino Romain
Posted April 18, 2012 at 04:17 PM

Hi,

I'm an adult beginner student, so my ears aren't very well trained.
I'm currently using AP Tuner, on my computer to tune my violin. It's not that bad, but I feel that some things are missing (like saving my A at 442Hz).

So question come to my mind.
Do you ever used computer software to tune you're violin, and which one?

I've even touched the idea of developing one (hard thing, their seem to be a lot of maths involved).
What would you expect from it?

From Shawn Boucke
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 05:57 PM
Cleartune for iPhone ($.99)
G-strings for Android (free)

Both have amazing options, even able to change the temperament.

From Patrick Tinney
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 10:47 PM
Shawn, you were lucky. When I bought Cleartune it was $3.99 plus tax, which is what I just found on a couple of sites. Itunes just says "downloaded". I love Cleartune since it has a pitch pipe function that I use to produce drones.

My favorite tuner for actually tuning my instruments and testing our organ at church is the Miso Tuner, which is a strobe tuner emulation which cost $0.99.

HTH
Pat T.

From Gene Wie
Posted on April 19, 2012 at 12:00 AM
I use Miso Tuner with my students to help them find a single starting reference pitch, before working through intervals.

For such an inexpensive application, it works quite well.

From Kristian Rereth
Posted on April 19, 2012 at 04:35 AM
>my ears aren't very well trained