Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Shoulder Rest

Accessories: Advice on shoulder rests.

From Parth Doshi
Posted February 26, 2012 at 07:25 AM

I have been searching for shoulder rests for a long time now, I have tried many and there are only a couple that I haven't. I noticed that I sound much better without one, and I've grown to get used playing without one. Recently, I went back to using one just for fun and realized how much more comfortable I was. Thing is, the sound is muted when I play with it. I have never used a wooden shoulder rest before, would my sound be better because it is wood and the vibrations can still somewhat continue? I was thinking about purchasing the Viva La Musica Diamond Model.

From Jim Dorans
Posted on February 26, 2012 at 12:01 PM
I honestly think it's impossible to make a judgement - I think you need to try it for yourself. Surely the rubber feet (on most rests?) would be the thing that affects vibration?
From Erica Thaler
Posted on February 26, 2012 at 01:28 PM
I just got a Viva La Musica "professional" model shoulder rest (wooden, but not the Diamond) and the sound is improved from the Kuhn and Muco I have used previously. And, no, my violin does not sound better without a rest. And, yes, some people are more comfortable without a rest and their violins sound better without them. I fear a long protracted discussion here, as usual, about shoulder rests.
I think you have to test them out yourself and see what sounds best for your. I will say, the VLM rest is very beautiful, well-made, and elegant. I have the walnut which is understated, with black fittings. Of note, it's a little taller than the Kuhn and Muco, but not much.
From Sue Bechler
Posted on February 26, 2012 at 02:28 PM