Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Russian bow hold

Teaching and Pedagogy: question between the benefits of different bow holds.

From Shawn Boucke
Posted January 31, 2012 at 05:13 PM

When I started playing my teacher told me about the "Russian bow hold" with the bow hitting the index finger higher up, and the wrist a little more bent. I would switch between that bow hold, and a more flat wrist depending on the music/style I was playing. Every teacher I have had after that has yelled at me for holding my bow that way. I worked to stop that habit, but recently watched a video where Itzhak Perlman mentions the "Russian bow hold."

Does anyone else know/use this bow hold?

What would be some benefits/difficulties with using this as opposed to a more flat wrist?

From Adrian Heath
Posted on February 4, 2012 at 11:02 AM
Teachers almost come to blows over this one!!

Hands are as similar, and as different, as faces.
In my case, I touch the stick near the root of the index, but my hand is flattish, with four curled fingers and a curled thumb. Russian? Franco-Belgian? Hard to say!

A high wrist usually entails a staightish thumb, which has to grip the bow constantly: a permanent tension which has to be partially undone for certain strokes. If this also entails a high elbow, we are complicating life even more!

I like to say that my thumb doesn't "hold " my bow, it just "holds it up." The fingers guide and balance it, and the elbow swing provides the energy. But I observe my students closely before advising any changes. Let's say that I found staccato, spiccato , saltellato etc. easier after adopting this bow hold, with an active thumb and flexible fingers. Maximum control with maximum ease..

The so-called Russian school offers great power in forte, with a rather "flautando" pianissimo.