Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Hermann Beyer Violin---level/quality?

Instruments: What is the general quality of Hermann Beyer instruments?

From Melinda Keeling
Posted March 14, 2011 at 02:31 AM

I am 51 years old, a late starter to the violin. I have a full size 1996 Hermann Beyer E201 violin that was a rental in a local music store. It is in pretty good condition, no cracks, chips, repairs, etc. I started playing in January 2010. My teacher says I play at about a two and a half year level now, and I am playing second violin in the local community orchestra.  I will never be a professional, currently I enjoy playing for myself and in the orchestra and practice in trio with viola and cello players from the orchestra.  I would like to be good enough to play at weddings and local events in a small trio or group.

My question is...what general level/quality would this instrument be considered? When should I look to upgrade, if I keep progessing? Will this instrument limit me, or will just my own abilities be the limit with this instrument.

Thank you!
Melinda

From Arnie Cohen
Posted on March 15, 2011 at 04:28 PM

Melinda,