Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Help! Cracked Fingers!

Health: Any advice for how to play with cracked fingers?

From Amanda Clark
Posted February 9, 2011 at 02:10 AM

Hi everyone,

I work outside for a living and (particularly in the winter), the corners of my fingertips crack. I wear gloves at work, use neosporin, and lotion, but it still remains painful, can last for days, and can interfere with playing. Does anyone have advice for this problem? Thanks!

Amanda

From Laurie Niles
Posted on February 9, 2011 at 02:11 AM

Superglue. Not kidding!

From Mark Bjork
Posted on February 9, 2011 at 02:50 AM

To help and especially to prevent try Bee Bar Lotion, available on line.

From Josh Henry
Posted on February 9, 2011 at 03:08 AM

Hi Amanda,

I'll second what Laurie recommends--the instant glues (Superglue, Krazy glue) work extremely well for cracked fingers. I use it all winter long to keep my finger tips from further splitting. Just one small drop will work, as the glue is thin, so it wicks into the crack and seals it up. Once the glue is dry (10 to 15 seconds) I would also recommend that you file over the glued finger tip with a small nail file to smooth things out a bit.

As far as a product to help prevent chapping, Bag Balm is the best one I've ever used. It was made for this problem, is inexpensive, and available at many drug stores.

Josh Henry, Bow Maker & Restorer
www.FineViolinBows.com

From Jim Hastings
Posted on February 9, 2011 at 03:39 AM

Although I am sensitive to cold and among the first to put on heavy gloves or mittens as soon as the cold weather sets it, I don't have this problem with the left-hand fingertips that you described -- and very little with the right-hand ones.

My left tips build up toughness through regular playing -- without being callused.  This somehow forestalls, at least for me, the cracking that can interfere with playing.