Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Cancellation policy for missed lessons?

Teaching and Pedagogy: I have been teaching for over 2 years without a cancellation policy but lately my students have been making a regular habit of cancelling - should I bring in a policy, and if so - what should it be?

From Lucy Phillips
Posted January 5, 2011 at 04:22 AM

Hi, I've been teaching privately for over 2 years now and I am considering bringing in a cancellation policy. It is my only source of income but more and more students are cancelling on the day and although for a while I found myself replying with a text to say "that's fine, see you next week" it has now gotten ridiculous, and as much as I like to be a friendly and accomodating teacher it's really starting to drive me mad - some weeks I've lost in excess of £100 through such cancellations.

I have a few questions to ask about this - is it ok to bring in a new policy for old students who 'signed up' for lessons before I brought it in? I've never really sold myself as having no policy, I have simply never mentioned it and always been fine about students cancelling on me.

I prefer students to pay on the day of their lesson rather than a lump sum in advance as this works best for me, but would I need to change this?

I considered simply saying that students must give 24 hours notice of cancellation without a word about any extra charge or how many times they are allowed to cancel within a given amount of time. What are people's thoughts?

It really is becoming an unfeasible option for me to keep this up as a job, and if I don't do something about it I'll have to eventually find some day work for regular pay (which would be a shame as I do love teaching!) and terminate the lessons.

Could anyone give me some examples of policies or any ideas for one?

Many thanks, Lucy Phillips

From Veronica Jackson
Posted on January 5, 2011 at 10:44 AM