Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Violin Restoration - Where to begin?

Instruments: I want to start my first ever project... but where to begin? I have never done any restoration before so it would be great if I could get some tips!

From Eloise Garland
Posted October 15, 2010 at 04:38 AM

I have my eye on an old violin I am hoping to buy which will need completely gutting out and given brand new parts - fingerboard, chin rest, tail piece, bridge, strings, pegs, maybe even a new nut and soundpost (I've not yet seen the violin but a picture which isn't very clear).

I have never done restoration of violins at all but my ambition is to become a part-time luthier when I am older, so I figured that I should probably start now and see how much I really enjoy doing restoration. 

I have looked online for all the tools I need, but then there comes the problem of a varnish? How can you restore varnish on a violin, or even take off the old varnish and completely renew the whole body and scroll? Which type of varnish is also another question I would be interested in - I have read about oil based and alcohol based varnishes which apparently give violins different sounds and have different drying times. 

Any advice on anything would be useful. As soon as I see the violin properly, I will take a picture to show you! Thanks!

From Michael Pijoan
Posted on October 15, 2010 at 04:53 AM