Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Books

Violinist.com Interviews: Vol. 1

Our exclusive, one-on-one interviews with 27 of today's best-known violinists, including Hilary Hahn, Joshua Bell, Sarah Chang, David Garrett, Anne Akiko Meyers, Maxim Vengerov, and others.

Otto Benjamin (Eastmanstrings) vs Maestro Violin (Stringworks) vs Carlo Lambertti (Shar)

Instruments: I am a newbie father of a 12 years old girl who needs to upgrade her old beginner 3/4 violin to an intermediate-advanced violin and after hours of reading reviews I am lost.

From Karl B
Posted September 28, 2010 at 11:57 PM

I am a violin newbie father of a 12 years old girl who needs to upgrade her old beginner 3/4 violin to an intermediate-advanced 4/4 violin and after hours of reading violin reviews I am lost and confused. I have done some research, and I could say I am a little  bit more literate about buying violins but to be honest I really have no clue on what violin should we buy. We have budgeted about $1,000. My girl plays in the school orchestra and she is an enthusiast player and we want to get her something that helps her to advance. After some research we narrowed our options to the Otto Benjamin series (by eastmanstrings), the Maestro (by Stringworks) and the Carlo Lambertti AV1000 (by Shar Music); however, we are open for suggestions. Could any share you experience with any of this instruments or suggest some other.

Thanks,

-------------UPDATE--------------------- 10/01/10

Thank you all for your valuable input we are now visiting different retailers in the area, to try different violins and look for the one that best fits my daughter.

From Elana Lehrer
Posted on September 29, 2010 at 01:24 AM