Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Sound characteristics

Instruments: Sound characteristics for different types of violin and Violas.

From Eirikur Kjartansson
Posted February 18, 2010 at 06:27 PM

Greetings folks.

I am kinda new to the Violin/Viola world.

I play the viola myself and have been for several months.

I have searched the internet, but cannot find any comments on sound characteristics for different types of Violins/Violas.

Like, what are the main sound characteristics for Stradivarius and Guarnieri Del Gesu etc 

I was told that Del Gesu was a smaller Violin and had a totally different sound.

Where can I find this information ?

From Anne-Marie Proulx
Posted on February 18, 2010 at 08:14 PM

The better source of information concerning this is probably to stop at a violin maker's shop to ask your questions... They know this so well!

Usually from my experience, readings, comments by soloists etc I think I can say very roughly that Stards are very very slightly longer than Guarneris with a "slender" body. Guarneris are a tiny bit shorter and thicker (more chubby look, slightly wider where you bow and a shorter "table" which is the streigh part before the curves if you check the violin sideways with the bridge 90 degres angle with the floor)