Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Teaching ideas for three year old violin student

Teaching and Pedagogy: Violin teacher looking for teaching techniques or games for 3 year old student.

From Rebekah Facciuto
Posted January 19, 2010 at 01:22 AM

I am a private music teacher, and I have a three year old student that I started teaching almost two months ago. She has a 30 minute lesson once a week ( a long time for a three year old). She has a very short attention span and doesn't yet understand how to put her fingers down on the fingerboard. I have taught her how to hold the violin and she uses the suzuki beginners bow hand and can pull the bow across the strings. The problem is that she gets fustrated very easily and I am worried that if it becomes too much that it will turn her off music. I was wondering if anyone has ideas for music games or teaching techniques that would be appropriate for someone her age. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

From Danielle Gomez
Posted on January 19, 2010 at 01:45 AM

I have taught many three years olds the violin.  I would not recommend trying to get them to play a violin with fingers right away.  Please consider that that is an exceedingly complex task to ask someone who is just figuring out how to write their name.

I suggest breaking down the tasks.  Focus on ONE skill at a time.  Here are some activities that have worked really well for me with kids at this age:

-Hold JUST the violin up with beautiful posture while the teacher plays a short song.  This works on concentration and posture.

-Work on tapping or clapping rhythms without the violin or bow to develop rhythm and pulse.