Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Bow Bounce

Technique and Practicing: Stopping bow bounce

From Jim Glasson
Posted October 20, 2008 at 05:01 PM

Good Morning!!
Let me say that I'm a REAL newbee with the violin though I've been playing blues and rock guitar for 40+ years.

I'm into my 4th week and still have a little trouble with the bow bouncing a little as I play.

According to my (excellent!) instructor, I'm holding the bow well but I still get *&^%$ bounce periodically.

I put in about 2+ hours of practice a day and have recently become a bit OCD about stopping the bounce.

As a bit of detail, after about 20 minutes or so, I can still bounce the bow but it's far less.

It might be my 50 year old hands which will be kinda' hard to correct :)

I *believe* my bow hand is loose.

Anyone have a similar experience or tip or two I might try?

From Sander Marcus
Posted on October 20, 2008 at 05:27 PM
Jim: Actually, your bow grip may be just a little too loose. Try gripping the bow a little harder rather than looser, and see if that helps.
Cordially, Sandy Marcus
From Eric Johnson
Posted on October 20, 2008 at 05:56 PM
I new to the violin too and have been having problems with this also.

With me the problem seemed to be more in the stiffness of my wrists. When my teacher saw I was keeping my bowing wrist straight. She had me lead with my wrist, which caused the bow to be more of edge near the frog and flatter toward the tip.

I practicve bowing with the wrist above the hand on the up stroke and below the hand the other way.

Hope this helped. After doing this, my problem with bow bounce has dropped quite a bit.

From al ku
Posted on October 20, 2008 at 06:03 PM
i wonder when you say it bounces, you mean it bounces when it is somewhere between the mid bow to the tip, not between frog to the middle, right?

that when it bounces, it bounces on a downbow and not upbow, right?