Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

I just won a Glaesel V130e4 violin on ebay

Instruments: Did I make a wise choice?

From Aaron Engel
Posted August 23, 2008 at 11:38 PM

Hello,

I just won the high bid on ebay for this violin:

Glaesel V130E4 4/4 Violin.

I'm new to the world of violin's and couldn't afford to get a more expensive one, but was wondering, is this a good violin? Is it a starter violin, or is this for more of an intermediate to advanced student? I didn't want to get a cheap Chinese thing, and would think a German violin would be a good investment.

So let me know what you guys think, and whatever information you know about this type of violin.

For those wondering, I got it for $119 and some change + shipping cost.

From Tasha Miner
Posted on August 24, 2008 at 01:21 AM
Sorry to say, I've never played or seen a Glaesel instrument I've liked. At all.

Hope yours is better!

From Hope Paolotto
Posted on August 24, 2008 at 05:45 PM
For the money you spent, you did well. Glaesel violins are bottom-of-the-line student violins, but they retail for a whole lot more than you paid. They retail on average for about $550 to $600. They do not sound that great, much too twangy for my taste, but will get the job done in the beginning. My advice would be to find a good luthier and have the violin checked to see if it is set-up well enough. Violin is hard enough as it is, don't make it harder by trying to play on a violin that is not set-up well.

Good Luck, and start saving for a better one.

From Hope Paolotto
Posted on August 24, 2008 at 05:49 PM
BTW, I just read your profile, I would not recommend teaching yourself how to play. There are too many technical aspects with the violin that are impossible to infer from a method book. If you would truly like to play for your church, get lessons. Good Luck with that as well! :)
From Marc Bettis
Posted on August 24, 2008 at 06:22 PM