Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Violin posture

Teaching and Pedagogy: I understand that the posture is important but I think for young children it's even more important not to lose interest.

From Polina S.
Posted July 1, 2008 at 04:36 PM

My 7 year old son has been doing Suzuki violin for about 2 years.
His teacher usually spends 40 min out of his 45 lesson telling him about his bad posture (violin pointing down towards the ground) and hardly practises 1-2 pieces each lesson. He's up to Minuet 1 now but the teacher very rare teaches him new pieces during the lesson and is not happy when I'm doing it it a home- I'm a pianist, not violinist.
I'm doing it because otherwise he will compeletely loose any interest in violin. The teacher always says that the shoulder rest is not good - we tried a lot -and he cannot progress further without my son holding the violin properly. I understand that the posture is important but I think for young children and especially for not so patient boys it's even more important not to lose interest.
What is you opinion - is it possible to not concentrate so much on his posture and get back to it when he's a bit older?

From Annette Brower
Posted on July 1, 2008 at 05:02 PM
You cannot move on without good posture, bow hold, etc. Practice all the review pieces with great technique and you may be surprised how quickly the teacher introduces a new piece. The proper shoulder pad is also vital. Be grateful you have found a persistent teacher who knows the value of a solid foundation.