Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

Books

Violinist.com Interviews: Vol. 1

Our exclusive, one-on-one interviews with 27 of today's best-known violinists, including Hilary Hahn, Joshua Bell, Sarah Chang, David Garrett, Anne Akiko Meyers, Maxim Vengerov, and others.

Violin or viola

Instruments: Choosing one of them

From Andre Peggion
Posted June 26, 2008 at 05:27 PM

I´m studying violin this last 5 years, from the very beggining. Since I have only two hours in a day to pratice, my development is slow.
These days I have been playing a 16"1/2 viola and apreciate it a lot. More sound and seems to be confortable to play.
My question is: viola is easier to learn, comparing to violin?

From Jerry Agin
Posted on June 26, 2008 at 06:07 PM
I bought a viola after I had been playing violin for ten years. I'm glad I did it because it makes me better able to fill in where I'm needed, particularly in playing string quartets.

I'd have to say there are two things that make the viola more difficult. The first is the size of the instrument. The notes are a little farther apart on the fingerboard, which makes quite a stretch for small hands like mine. (On the other hand, stretching for the viola makes notes on the violin seem easier to reach.) And you have to work a little harder with the right hand to get a good tone.

The other obstacle is that darn alto clef! If you're just starting out, it doesn't matter which clef you learn. But if, like most people, you're already used to reading treble clef, the alto clef can be quite a challenge. And if you switch back and forth between instruments, it can be extra confusing.

All in all, I'm very glad to be a "switch hitter". But there are obstacles I've had to overcome on the way.

Jerry

From Tom Holzman
Posted on June 26, 2008 at 06:32 PM