Welcome to Violinist.com! Log in, or join the community!
Violinist.com
Facebook Twitter Google+ Email Newsletter

How to Become a Violin Maker

Instruments: How do I get started?

From jake bush
Posted March 17, 2008 at 06:05 PM

I am very passionate about violins, and have always wanted to make my own, and have dreamed of making a masterpiece like any other violin maker, but how do I get started?

I see that there are the Chicago School of Violin Making, and the Salt Lake City one, which is the best to enroll in?

And what are ways I could prepare? I have no experience in woodworking, but I learn quickly when I devote myself to something. I am a hands-on learner, and when someone physically shows me something it makes sense, but learning from a textbook is very difficult for me.

Can any makers or aspiring makers give me advice and tell me about how to get into the field?

From neil ertz
Posted on March 17, 2008 at 07:07 PM
I’d recommend reading anything you can get your hands on about violin making and if you are seriously interested then certainly buy and read “The Secrets of Stradivari” by Simone F. Sacconi.
Go and visit any violin maker in your area and check out forums such as Maestronet where there is an active community of makers from complete beginner amateur makers through to quite a few high profile professionals chatting about what they do.
As for which of the schools in the US are best I am not sure as I live and work on the other side of the pond.
I wouldn’t recommend splashing out on a wide selection of tools at this stage as you can get started on really very little..but I would strongly recommend going out of your way to visit and chat too as many practicing violin makers as you can practically get too as this is the best way to find out if your dream is anything like the real world of making and/or repairing string instruments for a living.
Have fun and good luck.
Neil.
From LUIS CLAUDIO MANFIO
Posted on March 17, 2008 at 07:07 PM