Zakhar Bron

February 15, 2006 at 07:31 PM · Hi! I was wondering if anybody here has ever studied with Zakhar Bron and whether they could provide some input as to his teaching style. Is he a generally nice person?

Thanks

Replies (42)

February 15, 2006 at 08:27 PM · He is a very nice man, and with a good sense of humour. But he rightly has high demands on his students.

He does emphasize a lot on colour and tone.

Is there anything in particular you want to know? If you ar interested in him as a teacher I can not recommend him too much! He is a wonderful teacher, perhaps the greatest alive today.

February 15, 2006 at 08:52 PM · Greetings,

I agree. You can get him on DVD from Shar now.

Cheers,

Buri

February 15, 2006 at 11:05 PM · I second all of the above, and I must add that he only teaches in Russian or German. Definitely something to take into account!

He also is very intensive when working on vibrato and bow division and cleanliness and evenness of notes in runs....amongst many other things, of course.

He's very tough when teaching, but a very nice person when he's away from the violin.

February 16, 2006 at 02:24 AM · Bron is probably one of the greatest peadgogic geniuses alive right now.

February 16, 2006 at 09:48 PM · Oh that is a problem if he only teaches in russian and german of which I speak neither....I was looking at Schlern's website and they list him on the faculty. Does anybody have more information on his position at schlern? Is he only there for a masterclass or is he really on the faculty?

February 16, 2006 at 10:45 PM · Greetings,

two things spring to mind.

1)if you want to learn more about him through DVDs they have the English translation.

2) My impression from seeing him in masterclass and on the DVds is that languag is not a barrier.

He is just such a fantastic communicator through the violin and gesture.