How can I stop making those horrible faces when I play?

January 23, 2008 at 07:32 AM · I've been playing for a little over 5 years now - having started as a mature <*grin*> adult beginner. Although it's probably not my biggest problem, I'm really self-conscious about the grimaces I make while playing. What with all the other things I have to think about, having to devote any of my concentration to my face does not help my performance! Other than tension, are there any other reasons some of us do this, and how can I overcome it?

Replies (20)

January 23, 2008 at 04:34 PM · I see two issues here. One is why you make the faces. Do they reflect technique problems that you can work at solving? If not, I would simply not worry. I would hate for someone to record me playing to see what faces I make. Good luck!

January 23, 2008 at 04:39 PM · Send an e-mail to Maxim Vengerov. He may help you ;-)

January 23, 2008 at 04:45 PM · For what it's worth from an amateur, I've come to believe that making faces or grimacing is probably a natural, individual reaction based on the intense level of concentration and perceptual-motor coordination it takes to play. I think that most of us who grimace actually need to unlearn it. And I think that this means practice - just like you practice scales and bow changes and shifting and everything else.

It has always seemed to me watching old films of Heifetz that at many points he looks as if he is about to grimace, but then holds back. Considering what a perfectionist he was, I'll bet that he worked as hard on his stage presence as he did on his celebrated double-stops and vibrato.

Sandy

January 23, 2008 at 04:54 PM · Good post, Sandy.

January 23, 2008 at 05:52 PM · Okay, Sandy, spoken wisely. Now tell me how to get rid of my own adult beginner problem: horrible, inadvertent double chin when I play. Honestly, I'm surprised the mirror doesn't crack! As if the sound I produce weren't humbling enough... : /