Guitar hero!

July 4, 2007 at 02:14 AM · Anybody here play guitar hero? I just found out about the game around a month or 6 weeks ago, and I'm hooked! It's the only real musical game that I know of that does the performing aspect pretty well, plus you get to play some sweet rock guitar without really having to know how to play!

I'm also wondering if it's easier for musicians to catch onto this game. As soon as I started playing it, I was just about immediately better than my non-musician friends who had been playing it for a long time. A lot of my other musician friends caught on relatively quickly, but for some reason I feel like being a violinist helped me get really good really fast at this game. Then again, my brother (a percussionist) got really good at the game almost as fast as I did, so maybe there we're genetically predisposed "guitar hero heroes"?

Anyway, just looking for thoughts on the game, which I think is great for kids who might play it and decide to take up an actual instrument!

(I also put this under technique, because perhaps we can discuss how violin technique applies to the game! I feel like flat fingers help play a little better, even though you can't exactly vibrate on guitar hero!)

Replies (21)

July 4, 2007 at 02:23 AM · I LOVE Guitar Hero! And you're right, we do have an advantage. I'm not even good at most video games, but I can pick up Guitar Hero after not even having played it for months and beat people who practice all the time. Have you noticed that it also helps you think faster as a musician?

Also, I'm a sandwich delivery driver in a college town... if I deliver to people who are playing it(which is pretty much all the time) I always challenge them to a game before I leave. So far I haven't been beaten.

July 4, 2007 at 03:13 AM · haha, that's awesome! if i'm ever near the university of alabama, i'll be sure to order a sandwich, guitar controller in hand!

July 4, 2007 at 03:44 PM · I LOVE guitar hero!