Why Do So Many Music Fans Love Violinist André Rieu? (Interview) border=0 align=

Why Do So Many Music Fans Love Violinist André Rieu? (Interview)

October 20, 2017, 4:29 PM · When my daughter, Natalie, age 20, announced that she'd be studying abroad this fall at Maastricht University in the Netherlands, I wanted to learn all I could about this southern city along the Belgian border. Naturally, I turned to Google.

"NO WAY!" I shrieked excitedly. "It's the hometown of André Rieu! And look, he lives in a 15th-century castle there!"

"Uh, what?" said Natalie, not a violinist. "Who is this?"

Honestly, I didn't have a quick explanation there, either. In fact, what was I so excited about? I'd certainly heard of the enormously popular Dutch violinist André Rieu, but being such a noodle-head classical music wonk, I'm probably not the direct target market for his show. It seems more like something out of Disney World than out of Disney Hall. Keep reading...

Comments (9)

For the Record, Op. 33: James Ehnes; Brooklyn Rider; Z.E.N Trio border=0 align=

For the Record, Op. 33: James Ehnes; Brooklyn Rider; Z.E.N Trio

October 19, 2017, 11:29 AM · Welcome to "For the Record," Violinist.com's weekly roundup of new releases of recordings by violinists, violists, cellists and other classical musicians. We hope it helps you keep track of your favorite artists, as well as find some new ones to add to your listening!

Beethoven: Violin Concerto
James Ehnes, violin
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; Andrew Manze conducting

For James Ehnes' first recording of the Beethoven Violin Concerto, he has teamed up with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, led by fellow violinist/conductor Andrew Manze. The recording also includes Beethoven's "Romances" for violin; and Schubert's "Rondo."
Keep reading...

Young Frankenstein for Violin and Organ border=0 align=

Young Frankenstein for Violin and Organ

October 18, 2017, 10:36 PM · The violin seems to be an instrument that is associated with the devil, so it seems like a natural instrument to use for Halloween. Obviously works by Bazzini, Paganini and Saint-Saëns come to mind. But around Halloween I tend to get silly and ask my friends to play dress up and work on some project. I’m normally rather straight-laced so the one time of year I can dress up and be silly is this.

I can’t count the number of times people have asked me if I can play the tune from Young Frankenstein. It is memorable and of course a beautiful melody performed beautifully by the studio orchestra. I found the sheet music of Jonathan Feldman’s wonderful arrangement online (https://iainjacksonpiano.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/transylvanian-lullaby.pdf) and tried it out myself.

Happy Halloween! Keep reading...

Comments (3)

Keep Reading

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music

Pirastro Strings

MyOngaku Practice App

Yamaha V3 Series Violin

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Metzler Violin Shop

Gliga Violins

Anne Akiko Meyers' Fantasia

Corilon Violins

Anderson Musical Instrument Insurance

Bobelock Cases



Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Los Angeles Violin Shop

Violin Lab

Wangbow Violin Bow Workshop